Home Forums Help/Technical Questions 2880 Midi Sync with Roland drum machine?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    freshchops

I’ve researched the forums and also went back through the manual for the 2880 to no avail…..

I’m trying to sync a Roland TR-606 (vintage rhythm composer with the 2880. I know how to use the Roland and am proficient with the 2880 except w/ the Midi features. I’m completely new to MIDI so that doesn’t help.

My goal is to set the rhythm / tempo, programmed beats as the Master and let it sync the 2880’s loop / tempo to it (as a “slave” right?).

I’ve got the Roland set to “Midi OUT” connected to the 2880’s Midi “In”. From there, a ton of experimenting has yielded little results. Is there any better a,b,c-1,2,3 instructions out there on how to get it going? …like a generic, simple step by step walkthrough to sync even in the most simple fashion first.

At one time, I think I got it to sync, but after letting it play for about 5 mins, it seemed to trail off out of sync so I think it was just a close coincidence.

I’d really love to get this going so I could play along with the Roland’s 8 bit sounding programmed beats :)

…. any feedback or points in the right direction would greatly appreciated!

Cryabetes
    Participant

you’ll want the EXT CLOCK and QUANTIZE buttons both pressed. After that, it’s more if your clock source (in your case the 606) puts out a stable enough time code.
    Best of luck.

freshchops

Got it…. will try and revert back w/ results. Thanks!

freshchops

soooo….. still no luck syncing the Roland TR-606 with the 2880 :(

> The Roland only has one midi sync jack – but a switch to choose between “Input” and “Output”. I have it set to “Output”

> I have the midi cable plugged into the 2880’s “Midi In”

> With the Roland 606 playing through a rhythm loop, I select both the “Quantize” and “Ext Clock”